Home   Books   Award Winners   Coretta Scott King Book Award, Illustrator Awards

Coretta Scott King Book Award, Illustrator Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Award is presented annually by the Coretta Scott King Committee of the American Library Association’s Ethnic Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT).

The award (or awards) is given to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution. The books promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream. The award is further designed to commemorate the life, works, and dreams of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to work for peace and world brotherhood.

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award
Year Call Number Recipient Title Citation
2017 Javaka Steptoe Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat Winner
Ashley Bryan Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan Honor
R. Gregory Christie Freedom in Congo Square Honor
Jerry Pinkney In Plain Sight Honor
2016 Bryan Collier Trombone Shorty Winner
2015 Christopher Myers Firebird Winner
Hadley Hooper How I Discovered Poetry Honor
Christian Robinson Josephine: The Dazzling Life of Josephine Baker> Honor
Frank Morrison Little Melba and Her Big Trombone Honor
2014 Bryan Collier Knock Knock: My Dad’s Dream for Me Winner
Kadir Nelson Nelson Mandela Honor
2013   Bryan Collier I, Too, Am American Winner
    Daniel Minter Ellen’s Broom Honor
    Christopher Myers H.O.R.S.E. Honor
    Kadir Nelson I have a dream : Martin Luther King, Jr. Honor
2012   Shane W. Evans Underground: Finding the Light to Freedom Winner
    Kadir Nelson Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans Honor
2011   Bryan Collier Dave the Potter Winner
    Javaka Steptoe Jimi Sounds Like a Rainbow: A Story of the Young Jimi Hendrix Honor
2010   Charles S. Smith, Jr. My People Winner
    E. B. Lewis The Negro Speaks of Rivers Honor