Home   Books   Award Winners   Coretta Scott King Book Awards, Author Awards

Coretta Scott King Book Awards, Author Awards

The Coretta Scott King Book Award is presented annually by the Coretta Scott King Committee of the American Library Association’s Ethnic Multicultural Information Exchange Round Table (EMIERT).

The award (or awards) is given to an African American author and an African American illustrator for an outstandingly inspirational and educational contribution. The books promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream. The award is further designed to commemorate the life, works, and dreams of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to work for peace and world brotherhood.

Coretta Scott King Author Award
Year Call Number Recipient Title Citation
2013 JUV 920.9 Pinkney Andrea Davis Pinkney Hand in hand: , ten Black men who changed America Winner
    Jacqueline Woodson Each kindness Honor
    Vaunda Micheaux Nelson No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Micheaux, Harlem Bookseller Honor
2012   Kadir Nelson Heart and Soul: The Story of America and African Americans Winner
    Eloise Greenfield The Great Migration: Journey to the North Honor
    Patricia C. McKissack Never Forgotten Honor
2011 JUV FIC Williams-Garcia Rita Williams-Garcia One crazy summer Winner
  FIC YA Myers Walter Dean Myers Lockdown Honor
  JUV FIC Rhodes Jewell Parker Rhodes Ninth Ward Honor
    G. Neri Yummy Honor
2010 JUV 921 Reeves Vaunda Micheaux Nelson Bad news for outlaws : the remarkable life of Bass Reeves, deputy U.S. marshal Winner
  FIC YA Davis Tanita S. Davis Mare’s war Honor